Skip to content
https://www.ancientroots.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/cropped-template-three-2.jpg

Reviews

5.0
Based on 15 Reviews
google
Robert Griffiths
January 30, 2024

I run two busy chiropractic clinics in Notting Hill and The City. Mel is the only person I send all my patients too if they are having any issues with fertility and conceiving. Mel helped my wife immensely when we were trying for our second child, so I know just how amazing she is at her job and as a person! Every single patient I send her comes back with the most amazing reports of professionalism, skill and care. If google allowed 10 stars, I would give it! Thanks Mel x

google
Emma newsom
December 14, 2023

Mel has been an essential part of my fertility journey. I’ve had a long rocky road to finally being pregnant and I can’t thank her enough for all the support and advice she has given me along the way. Her care, kindness and compassion has been at times life changing for me, particularly during the dark days. She is an awesome Acupuncturist, she treats your body your mind and your soul.

google
Anna Henderson
August 5, 2023

Melanie is one of the most knowledgeable, empathetic and effective practitioners I’ve ever come across. After two years of sub-fertility I came to her through a recommendation, and became pregnant with my first child within two months of treatment. I’m now expecting my second baby after additional sessions with Mel. I’ve found her to be a source of in-depth information and well rounded treatment in this area, with a true understanding of what her patients are going through both physically and emotionally. But this important element aside, she really gets results. As someone who hasn’t had acupuncture before, I was amazed at the difference it has made and I am forever grateful to have met Mel! I would wholeheartedly recommend her to anyone who is struggling to conceive.

google
Aine Connellan
May 16, 2022

I saw Mel once a week for several weeks leading up to and during my ivf treatment in 2022. While the doctors are great, they are more clinical and matter of fact, and it can be a very lonely and tough road. Mel felt like my ally throughout the process, she understood the emotional turmoil of going through fertility treatment and showed kindness and empathy. She is extremely knowledgeable and experienced and makes you feel at ease and like you are doing all you can for the desired outcome. I'm extremely grateful I was in her care for my fertility journey.

google
Angharad D
February 10, 2021

Melanie is just great - I can't recommend her highly enough. I'd never had acupuncture before and wasn't sure what to expect when I first met her, but she put me at ease, explained everything simply and was incredibly reassuring. As a fertility specialist she's experienced, compassionate and knows what she's talking about - she also has lots of practical advice and suggestions about going through fertility treatment that really help. I went to her every week for several months and I'm so glad I did.

google
Julia Griffiths
August 20, 2020

I had been trying to conceive for over a year before I met Mel. I was feeling pretty low and willing to try anything that might help. Quite honestly, the idea of acupuncture had not appealed to me before as I’m not a fan of needles! Mel was recommended highly by a friend and I immediately saw why. She has an incredibly calming and reassuring approach which made me feel understood and at ease to share my experiences and emotions. This was an amazing feeling after feeling alone for so long. With the acupuncture itself, I needn’t have worried! With Mel’s gentle approach and years of experience, I didn’t feel a thing and was surprised by how relaxed it made me feel. I left each session feeling strong and positive, exactly what I needed. I am now expecting a baby in a few days and know, without a doubt that Mel significantly helped prepare my mind and body for conception and during early pregnancy. I am forever grateful to her and would highly recommend her to anyone experiencing fertility challenges.

google
Hazel Mowbray
August 20, 2020

I credit Melanie with my gorgeous healthy baby, and that I’m expecting a second baby. Having had 3 miscarriages, 2 rounds of IVF, and 1 lot of uterine surgery I started acupuncture in preparation for a third round of IVF. Two weeks later I was pregnant naturally (the power of acupuncture!) It was a horrendous pregnancy, with a constant fear that I would miscarry or deliver early, and I experienced painful cramping until 28 weeks. Melanie was quite simply the best thing that happened that pregnancy. She was calm and empathetic and kind, and I believe acupuncture is the only thing which helped reduce the agonising cramps and calmed my very anxious mental state. She changed her approach each week depending on what was happening, and there was a notable positive difference in how I felt immediately after acupuncture and in the days that followed. I will be eternally grateful to her for supporting me through that pregnancy and credit her with my lovely health baby. We then decided to try for a second baby via IVF. I started seeing Melanie a few moths before the treatment was going to start, and within 2 weeks was naturally pregnant again. Medical miracle #2, or the power of acupuncture (I like to think the latter). This time I was diagnosed with a sub chorionic hematoma at 8 weeks and given a 50/50 change of a successful pregnancy. Melanie had exactly the right treatment for this, helping to reduce the internal bleeding and support positive blood flow. The hematoma resolved without bleeding out by 16 weeks - having been told by hospital to expect significant bleeding. Having been a sceptic of alternative medicine in the past, I found acupuncture to be a complete revelation. Melanie really explains what she’s doing and why, and is honest about what will be effective. She has quite literally changed my life for the better - both discovering a type of treatment which really works for me and which I know I will come back to in the future, and her personally: her support, kindness and professionalism. The facts speak for themselves in my case, and a thank you doesn’t quite do Melanie justice.

google
Katie Becker
August 11, 2020

Discovering Melanie has been an absolutely pivotal and life changing experience for me. I came to her as a very stressed and unhappy person, desperate to conceive after many years of trying. She treated me as an individual in the most holistic and compassionate way. Identifying areas in which I could make positive lifestyle changes to improve my fertility, reduce my anxiety and boost my chances of conceiving. I genuinely felt a huge weight had been lifted from me and after a short time of being treated by Melanie I became pregnant. I had a very happy and healthy pregnancy and continued to see Melanie throughout. The first time I felt my baby kicking was during a session with Melanie and that was a very special moment which felt very apt! When my husband and I decided to try to conceive our second child, I became pregnant again after my first session back with Melanie! I truly believe that being back on her treatment table did wonders for my body and my mind again. I couldn’t recommend Melanie as a therapist more, she is a wonderful, empathetic and very kind woman and a skilled and knowledgable therapist who is deeply passionate about her work.

I cannot recommend Melanie's fertility acupuncture services enough. Mel is a fantastic and experienced acupuncturist and a kind and compassionate counsellor. I am 46 and after years of fertility issues I became pregnant with donor eggs on my first attempt which is largely due to Mel. I am now 15 weeks pregnant with my first child.

I had treatment leading up to and throughout the IVF process which was invaluable both physically and emotionally. Mel also diagnosed that I had thyroid issues just from feeling my pulses which lead me to having a blood test to confirm this and meant I could be treated in time for the embryo transfer which is critical for pregnancy success. The treatment itself is extremely relaxing and I always feel amazing afterwards. Mel's services are also extremely good value given her experience.

Asia

I would highly highly recommend Mel to anyone going through a pregnancy journey. I have seen Mel through both my pregnancies (the second was certainly a bumpy journey to get there) and wouldn’t have had it any other way. She is sooo passionate about what she does and goes way over and above just seeing you for acupuncture sessions. Mel’s knowledge, empathy and understanding is second to none…she has been such a great emotional, mental and physical support for us during our journey, I can’t thank her enough.

PM

Melanie first helped me with the birth of my daughter in 2019 and I didn't hesitate to go back to her when trying for our second baby. First and foremost, she is an incredibly skilled practitioner and I always felt that everything she did was moving me towards my ultimate goal. However, it's her compassion and emotional support that really helped me through a challenging time - and having a weekly snooze in her clinic didn't do any harm either 🙂 I'm very happy to say I'm now expecting a boy in January 2023 - thanks again, Mel!

LA

Quite simply, Mel made one of the hardest times in my life a thousand times easier with her kindness, unwavering support and expertise. Her attention to detail and compassion shone through at my first session and I genuinely looked forward to each one after over the course of a year, for both the effect of her work and speaking to someone who truly understood what I was going through. They say it takes a village to raise a child, but sometimes it takes a village to make a baby, and undoubtedly Mel was integral to the eventual success of my treatment, and my beautiful daughter.

Eve M

Mel is one of the most approachable and comforting acupuncturists I have come across. Upon being recommended for Acupunture, I did my research and spoke to many but chose Mel wholly because of her experience, real life cases and her own journey which I could thoroughly relate to. Mel takes great pleasure in her clients progression so every week I would have a good release session with her and leave the room feeling so light and free. I’ve had some of the best sleep of my life, the easiest two week wait and an amazing treatment cycle in the run up of my IVF cycle. She listened to my needs, planned around them and helped me with my journey to get pregnant! All things considering I couldn’t stand the thought of needles but the way Mel relaxes you, I craved for me and now I’ve found a new love for Acupunture and now she’ll never see the back of me! I never imagined to be able to go through IVF just the once but I did and it was thanks to Mel and her encouragement, not just when I was in her presence but endless support on calls and texts. Thank you Mel, from both of us.

M and N

When you’re undertaking the personal journey of fertility treatment you need to be able to trust that your “chosen team” you create around you are the best in their field and that is certainly how I felt about Mel as my wonderful acupuncturist. Her knowledge is so extensive I immediately felt safe in her hands. She’s very easy to talk to, professional, empathetic, thorough and free speaking and through her own personal experience you know she’s doing everything to get results. She would adjust treatments to reflect my wellbeing as well as the purpose being fertility and adopted a holistic approach rather than just rolling out well practised protocol and always chatted it through and checked I was ok with that. This was easy to accept because I had full faith in her skills and experience (whereas previous acupuncturists I hadn’t.) She was also available in between treatments too if I wanted to chat anything through. I seriously believe she has been instrumental in our successful pregnancy and I highly recommend her.

CM
Fertility Testimonial

Mel is one of the most approachable and comforting acupuncturists I have come across. Upon being recommended for Acupuncture, I did my research and spoke to many but chose Mel wholly because of her experience, real life cases and her own journey which I could thoroughly relate to. Mel takes great pleasure in her client's progression so every week I would have a good release session with her and leave the room feeling so light and free. I’ve had some of the best sleep of my life, the easiest two week wait and an amazing treatment cycle in the run up to my IVF cycle. She listened to my needs, planned around them and helped me with my journey to get pregnant! All things considering I couldn’t stand the thought of needles but the way Mel relaxes you, I craved for more and now I’ve found a new love for Acupuncture and she’ll never see the back of me! I never imagined to be able to go through IVF just the once but I did and it was thanks to Mel and her encouragement, not just when I was in her presence but endless support on calls and texts. Thank you Mel, from both of us.

M&N

I think the most striking thing about Melanie is the way that she treated us as individuals with our own particular set of circumstances. Before every appointment, and also in talking with us before our first consultation, she took the time to understand our circumstances and our wishes, and adjusted her treatment plans for us according to what was most appropriate for us at that particular time.

If you've never experienced it before, undergoing acupuncture can be a nervous experience, but Melanie's professional manner put us both at rest, and her skill with the acupuncture needles actually turned it into a relaxing experience that frequently saw both of us dozing off on the treatment table!

We had read about the benefits of acupuncture as part of fertility treatment, and chose to see a specialist like Melanie because we had been trying to start a family for four years. She is very knowledgeable about all areas of fertility, keeps up-to-date with recent developments in the field, and was therefore able to give us honest advice about the options available to us based on our situation. Her treatment plan integrated seamlessly with the rest of our fertility treatment, and she always made time to see us at the most important points in the overall cycle.

We're both very, very happy with the help Melanie has given us. Within a year of our first appointment with Melanie, we had a successful IVF cycle on the first attempt. Embarking on fertility treatment can feel like setting out on a lonely journey. Melanie didn't just help us to be physically prepared for treatment; her care, support and lovely smile helped
us to be ready for it emotionally as well.

A & N

Mel supported me through every step of our IVF journey. As well as the treatment helping us to conceive, she helped keep me sane. My Mum noticed how even my voice changed after seeing Mel - as the undertone of anxiety had abated. How did she manage this? A combination of the wonder of acupuncture and Mel’s incredible empathy, listening ear and sage advice. It may sound cliched but Mel genuinely always went the extra mile to provide ongoing support and that certainly helped carry me through and I will always be grateful.

Abi

Melanie has been our rock for over 3 years. She has supported us through some really tough times and always given us the positivity and strength to move forward. Her treatments and advice have undoubtedly played a huge role in the birth of our beautiful daughter in 2015 and now our 2nd pregnancy due in February 2018.

KN

Write a review

Scroll To Top